Scott takes opening night honours 3rd November 2013

Cromwell's Jason Scott was on early form on opening night The opening nights racing of the new season at Elf Lubricants Ruapuna Speedway saw close racing in all classes with Jason Scott winning the opening round of the $60,000 War of the Wings Sprintcar series.

The WOW series sponsored by Tyre General brings together the top sprintcar drivers from around the South Island and will be raced over ten rounds, at seven different tracks over the summer. Scott made the ideal start by winning the 20 Lap Feature but was pushed all the way by Nelson's Brett Sullivan with local farmer Matt Honeywell in third place from Kris Gerard (Nelson) and the defending WOW Series Champion Ray Baughan of Christchurch.

Christchurch based Jamie Duff looked to heading for the top three place when coming from the back of the 13 car field to to pass Honeywell on lap 11 to move into third place. With five laps to run the three leading cars were nose to tail but with two laps remaining Duff was forced to retire with motor problems. This left Scott to take a narrow win by just over half a second.

In the heat racing Scott won two of his three heats, finishing in fourth place in the other with Sullivan, Gerard, Baughan and Nigel Colvin also claiming wins.

Nick Donaldson took out the win the Midgetcar Feature as well as winning a heat. Glen Everett also took out a heat and followed Donaldson home in the Feature with Glen Durie third.

There was plenty of action in the Three Quarter Midget class with rookie Sam Neil winning the Feature in his debut meeting with heats wins going to Kate Warren and Jeremy Webb. Webb took out the second heat which saw six different leaders over the ten laps from Matt Leversedge with Liam McCoubrey storming home for third place.

Ben Gilmore and Josh Walls were the pick of the Modified Sprint class with Gilmore winning both heats but was forced to follow home Walls, who claimed a second and a third in the heats, in the Feature, with Brendon Daly in third.

A large field took to the track in the development Quarter Midget class with Montana Jamieson claiming two wins, with Hunter Rowlands also taking a win with Brad Clive also having a good night with two seconds and a third.

Race Results (Competitors from Christchurch Unless Stated)


Tyre General War of the Wings - Round 1

Ht 1. Brett Sullivan (Nelson) 1, Matt Honeywell 2, Chris Gerard (Nelson) 3.

Ht 2. Jason Scott (Cromwell) 1, Daniel Anderson (Cromwell) 2, Daryl Wright 3.

Ht 3. Nigel Colvin (Cromwell) Nathan Astle 2, Anderson 3.

Ht 4. Scott 1, Honeywell 2, Sullivan 3.

Ht 5. Ray Baughan 1, Astle 2, Andy Erskine (Cromwell) 3.

Ht 6. Gerard 1, Sullivan 2, Honeywell 3.

Feature. Scott 1, Sullivan 2, Honeywell 3, Gerald 4, Baughan 5.

Points: Scott 100, Sullivan 90, Honeywell 80, Gerard 75, Baughan 70, Anderson 65, Astle 60, Caleb Brooks 55, Erskine 50, Wright 45, Paddy North 40, Jamie Duff 35, Gareth Thomas 30


Ht 1. Glenn Everett 1, Gavin Wilkie (Dunedin) 2, Glen Durie 3.

Ht 2. Nick Donaldson 1, Durie 2, Everett 3.

Feature. Donaldson 1, Everett 2, Durie 3.

Three Quarter Midgets

Ht 1. Kate Warren 1, Matt Leversedge 2, Kevin Clive 3.

Ht 2. Jeremy Webb 1, Leversedge 2, Liam McCoubrey 3.

Feature. Sam Neil 1, Leversedge 2, Brian Fridd 3.

Modified Sprints

Ht 1. Ben Gilmore 1, Josh Walls 2, Nigel Jackson 3.

Ht 2. Gilmore 1, Jackson 2, Walls 3.

Feature. Walls 1, Gilmore 2, Brendan Daly 3.

Quarter Midgets.

Race 1. Montana Jamieson 1, Brad Clive 2, Hunter Rowlands 3.

Race 2. Rowlands 1, Clive 2, Jack Low 3.

Final. Jamieson 1, Ben Morgan 2, Clive 3.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on