Ruapuna collects Silverware at Speedway New Zealand Awards

What a great night for Ruapuna, and its people was how Christchurch Speedway Association President Kevin Clive described the trophy haul at the NZ Speedway Awards held in Wellington on Saturday night.

"We've been working really hard on raising our profile, and on our professionalism-its starting to pay off" said an ecstatic Clive after the function. Ruapuna's marketing strategy paid off in winning "The Best Poster", "Best Race Meeting Video Production" , "Best T-Shirt" and "Best Promotional Item" (shared with Oreti), and then competitors Matt Leversedge (TQ Driver of the Year) and Montana Jamieson (1/4 Midget driver of the Year) were recognised. Kevin acknowledged the efforts of many with the successful entries.

Some of the silverware picked up by Ruapuna Speedway at Saturday nights awards     ""We are thrilled that two of our young gun racers were recognised. Matt and Montana are both great racers. Our Promotions Team worked very hard, and one of the initiatives that we built on was our 'Mail Drop card' programme. We hand delivered over 10, 000 of these. Chris MacKenzie does an outstanding job with our programme and graphic designs and his NZ TQ Championship poster was stunning. Neil Sorenson puts in many hours providing our competitors and fans with great video footage, while the Track Shack team are justifiably proud of the NZ Sidecar Championship T-Shirt. It was also great to see the third place cup from the NZ TQ Championship handed over for Jeremy Webb."" The crowning moment came when recently retired Ruapuna identity Gary Jemmett received the prestigious ""Overall Contribution to Speedway"" Award. ""Gary has worked tirelessly for the club for forty plus years. He is highly respected in the Speedway World and this Award recognises his contribution. Gary may be fading into the background a little, but I know that he will answer the call if we need advice and guidance."" The club was a 'beaten finalist' in several other categories including  'National Event of the Year-NZ Sidecar Championship"", Most Improved Club Speedway, Sportsman of the Year (Kevin Clive), TQ Driver of the Year (Jeremy Webb), Sidecar Competitor of the Year (John Warwood & Laurie McMahon), 1/4 Midget Driver of the Year (Brad Clive), Photographer of the Year (TJ Palmer) and Announcer of the Year (AJ Batt).


Ruapuna Speedway

Christchurch Speedway Association
PO Box 16-462
Christchurch 8441

New Zealand

Find us on Facebook

Telephone: 03 349 7727

© 2020 Christchurch Speedway Association