RACE MEETING NO. 9 David Kerr continued a remarkable winning sequence when he retained his SouthIsland Midget Car title at Mag and Turbo Ruapuna Speedway on Saturday evening tomake it six wins on the trot and is now just one win away from joining the late Trevor Hall record of seven wins.Kerr's win, the third on his home track, proved to be a tight affair with half the fieldstill having a chance of lifting the title. Going into the final of the three heats, Kerrfinished in second place behind Nelson's Nevil Basalaj, enough to give Kerr the titleby two points - on 34. Basalaj - on 32 was looking for his fourth title, with NickDonaldson third on 28 from Glen Durie 27 and Glenn Everett 25. The Southbridge engineer started his title defence when coming from grid eight tofinish second behind Donaldson with Durie holding out the fast finishing Basalaj forthird place. Kerr led from the opening lap to win the second heat from Basalaj withSteve McCallum third after Everett was relegated a place for a racing infringement. This left Kerr three points clear of both Basalaj and Donaldson going into the finalheat.Donaldson's title hopes were dashed when he spun out early in the race forcing himto restart at the back of the field as Basalaj took the early lead. Kerr moved fromfourth to third on the second lap and three laps later claimed second place with atrademark outside pass on the Town Bend to account for Everett.Kerr knew that second place was enough for his “Super Six” title haul with Basalajwell clear at the finish line with Durie holding on to third place from Everett andDonaldson.A packed field contested the Canterbury Three Quarter Midget championship andafter three hectic points races it was Ben Gilmore, with two wins claiming the titleon 58 points four clear of Gareth Bindon with Kyle Glover, who won the other heat,third on 48. Jeremy Webb had a horror run in the championship racing failing to finish theopening two heats made up for this when winning the Feature from Gilmore andBindon. The Six Shooters also contested the Canterbury championship, their first for thenew class with Shawn Ashton three second places just enough to claim the title by asingle point from Matt Anderson with Brooke Wright a further point back to takethird place.Ashton ran out of luck in the Feature when his was involved in a tangle on the frontstraight resulting in rolling his car with Anderson claiming the win from Wright with Todd Hay third.Liam McCoubrey won both his ¼ Midget races with other wins going to Montana Jamieson and Hunter Rowland.

Race Results - Competitors from Christchurch unless stated

MidgetsSouth Island Title Ht 1: Nick Donaldson 1, David Kerr 2, Glen Durie 3, Nevil Basalaj (Nelson) 4, GavinWilkie (Dunedin) 5, Glenn Everett 6, Michael Moulin 7, Steve McCallum 8, ScottMiller 9, Nick Marquet (Nelson) 10.

Ht 2: Kerr 1, Basalaj 2, McCallum 3, Everett 4, Donaldson 5, Durie 6, Wilkie 7,Moulin 8, Marquet 9.

Ht 3: Basalaj 1, Kerr 2, Durie 3, Everett 4, Donaldson 5, McCallum 6, Moulin 7.Final Points: Kerr 34, Basalaj 32, Donaldson 28, Durie 27, Everett 25, McCallum 22,Moulin 17, Wilkie 14, Marquet 7, Millar 4, Nankivell 0, Brown 0.

Three Quarter Midgets Canterbury Championship Ht 1: Ben Gilmore 1, Gareth Bindon 2, Blair Warren 3.

Ht 2: Kyle Glover 1, Lindsay Bailey 2, Gilmore 3.

Ht 3: Gilmore 1, Jeremy Webb 2, Bindon 3.

Points: Gilmore 58, Bindon 54, Kyle Glover 48, Tom Lumsden 45, Matt Leversedge45, B Warren 44, Brian Fridd 39, Kimberley Yeatman 33, L Bailey 33, Glen Milroy 27,Webb 19, Daniel McKinlay 18, Kate Warren 15, Matty Davison 12, Scott Bailey 11,Ryan Chapman 8, Charles Gardiner 6.Feature: Webb 1, Gilmore 2, Bindon 3.

Six ShootersCanterbury Championship Ht 1: Matt Anderson (Dunedin) 1, Shawn Ashton 2, Brooke Wright 3.

Ht 2: Todd Hay (Cromwell) 1, Ashton 2, Anderson 3.

Ht 3: Wright 1, Ashton 2, Anderson 3.

Final Points: Ashton 24, Anderson 23, Wright 22, Hay 18, James Mellor (Cromwell)14, Ben Smit 13, Chris Farley 8, Kris Jemmett 2.Feature: Anderson 1, Wright 2, Hay 3.

¼ Midgets Ht 1: Liam McCoubrey 1, Ben Morgan 2, Bailey Patterson 3.

Ht 2: Montana Jamieson 1, Hunter Rowland 2, Jack Low 3.

Ht 3: Rowland 1, Jamieson 2, Brad Shearman 3.

Feature: McCoubrey 1, Jayden Bradley 2, Alissa Clive 3.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on