...Night two Avon Insurance Sprintcar Gold Cup

Race results will be updated during the meeting on this pinned posting.

Sprintcar Gold Cup Group 1 Jonathon Allard 2NZ Steve Duff Jnr 15C Martin Harcourt 32C (Scratched) Matt Honeywell 64C Sam O'Callaghan 75N Skinny Colson 66K Ben Gilmore 83C (Scratched) Jack Brown 57I

Group 2 Jamie Larsen 82P John Sievwright 14T (Scratched) Daniel Anderson 44I Paddy North 46E Alicia Hill 6N (Scratched) Oscar Harcourt 7C Dave Kerr 99C (Scratched) Paul Donavan 8P (Scratched)

Group 3 Jamie McDonald 71A Matthew Anderson 16T Allan Chapman 44C Caleb Baughan 59C Stephen Taylor 21W Shaun Ashton 73C Ray Baughan 95C Kyle Shearing 4T

Group 4 Jamie Duff 19C Gene Spooner 21C Connor Rangi 57N Matthew Leversedge 78C Luke Wederall 9C (Scratched) Dean Brindle 22A Nathan Roberts 8C (Scratched)

Race results: Sprintcars Ht 7: Group (1 & 2). Jonathon Allard 1, Jamie McDonald 2, Graeme 'Skinny' Colson 3, Steve Duff 4, Allan Chapman 5, Ray Baughan 6. Allard from pole jumped out to early head and was never headed with McDonad having a great dice with Skinny for the minors with McDonald finally great by Skinny mid race with Steve Duff fourth from Chapman and Ray Baughan. DNF's Taylor, O'Callaghan, Honeywell and Mathew Anderson

Ht 8: Group (3 & 4). Conner Rangi 1, Jam, Brindle Jamie Duff 2, Jamie Larsen 3, Dean Brindle 4, Matthew Leversedge 5, Paddy North 6. Rangi flag to flag win, with Duff moving from 4th to second when passing Leversedge and then Brindle on a restart after Oscar Harcourt spun in lap 3. Larsen up to third by lap seven and tried to chase down Duff on the closing laps to no avail, Brindle home in 4th from Leversedge and Paddy North.

Ht 9: Group (1 & 3). Allard 1, Larsen 2, Daniel Anderson 3, Sam O'Callaghan 4, Steve Duff 5, Jack Brown 6. Anderson lead for opening eight laps, before Allard got by with Larsen doing the same the following lap with Allard then driving the perfect lap tp hold our Larsen over the closing 2 laps with Anderson home in 3rd from O'Callaghan, Steve Duff and Jack Brown.

Ht 10: Group (2 & 4). Taylor 1, McDonald 2, Jamie Duff 3, Leversedge 4, C Baughan 5, Rangi 6. Taylor cleared out to take lead from Shearing with the latter then getting swamped on the closing laps with McDonald 2nd, Duff 3rd, then Leversedge, C Baughan and Rangi in 6th.

Qualflying Points: Allard 98, McDonald 91. Larsen 89, Leversedge 87, Rangi 84, Brindle 82, J Duff 79, C Baughan 72, Taylor 71, Colson 71, North 69, Chapman 67 Shearing 64, O'Callaghan 62, S Duff 62, Brown 60, R Baughan 59, D Anderson 58, Spooner 51, Honeywell 50, O Harcourt 49, M Anderson 40. Pole Shuffle - Top 5. Allard 1, Larsen 2, McDonald 3, Leversedge 4, Rangi 5, B Main. Not required Gold Cup 25 Lap Feature. Allard 1, Leversedge 2, Taylor 3, J Duff 4, Larsen 5, Brindle, 6, McDonald 7, North 8, Rangi 9, Colson 10.

Allard took over the lead from Larsen on lap 2 and was nevered headed with Leversedge into second on the same lap with McDonald into third a lap later, with the red coming on after a three car tangle on the Prison Bend with a small oil fire. In the restart Allard control the race with Leversdge in a comfortable second with a battle developing for third to seventh between Larsen, McDonald, Taylor, Jamie Duff and Brindle. Taylor claimed third spot on lap 10 passing McDonald with Duff getting by McDonald the follwing lap. Larsen produce his usual strong finish to account for McDonald and Brindle and with the first two placings set Duff closed in of Taylor over the closing few laps but could not got close enough to mount a challenge.

Midgets. Ht 1. Jeremy Webb 1, Reon Taylor 2, Glen Durie 3. Ht 2. Webb 1, Taylor 2, Ben Morgan 3. Feature. Webb 1, Morgan 2, Nathan Wilkie 3.

Modified Sprints Ht 1. Jayedan Basalaj 1, Craig Cox 2, Courtney Jones 3. Ht 2. Kieran Harris 1, Basalaj 2, Clayton Phillips 3. Feature. Jones 1, Brendan Daly 2, Cox 3.

V6 Wingless Sprints -Ruapuna Rumble Ht 1. Kirk Hawkins 1, Adam Evans 2, Shanarah Stronach 3. Ht 2. Emma Gordon 1, Peter Keith 2, Andrew Gregge 3. Ht 3. Luke McClymont 1, Paul Smith 2, Keith 3. Feature. McClymont 1, Smith 2, Hawkins 3.

179 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on