Leversedge wins Ryan Stone Tribute 1st December 2013

Matt Leversedge took out the inaugural staging of the Ryan Stone Tribute Three Quarter Midget race at Elf Lubricants Ruapuna Speedway on Saturday evening, from Jeremy Webb and Scott Bailey.

Ryan Stone was one of Christchurch's top drivers in recent years, winning several South Island championships and lost his battle with cancer late last year with the Tribute race raced over the unique distant of 17 laps with 17 cars starting the race - 17 was Stone's race car number with the race lead out by Geoff Stone, Ryan's father driving Ryan's former car.

Leversedge's win came on the back of winning one of the qualifying heats and finishing seventh in another, with other heat winners Kyle Glover, Gaerth Bindon and Kevin Clive, with all the heats closely contested. Leversedge had to start near the back of the Feature race which saw Marcus Doocey lead for the opening laps before being passed by Charles Gardiner who lead up to the sixth lap.

Lindsay Bailey then took the lead as Leversedge had worked his way up to fourth position. By lap seven Leversedge was on second place and on the next lap took the lead when passing Bailey on the Prison Bend. Leversedge then opened up a handy lead with Webb passing Bailey on the closing laps to claim second lap with Gardiner finishing in fourth place from Brian Fridd and Michael Moulin.

Kieran Harris stepped into his old car, now owned by Allan Daly, to make it a clean sweep in the Modified Sprint class with Ben Gilmore and Josh Walls providing Harris with his main opposition. Glenn Everett continued his good start to the season in the Midget class with a second behind Dunedin's Gavin Wilkie in the open heat before then winning the next heat and then Feature race.

The Six Shooter class was evenly contested with three difference winners, Kris Jemmett, and Grant Harkness each winning a heat with Matt Doncliff winning the Feature from Ben Smit and Shaun Ashton.

In the development classes Shian Robb was the pick of the drivers in the Youth Ministocks with Montana Jamieson dominating in the ¼ Midget class.


Youngster Mathew Leversedge was no match for the competition winning the Ryan Stone memorial from the rear of the field

Three Quarter Midgets - Ryan Stone Tribute

Ht 1. Kyle Glover 1, Jeremy Webb 2, Liam McCoubrey 3.

Ht 2. Matt Leversedge 1, Gareth Bindon 2, Kevin Clive 3.

Ht 3. Bindon 1, McCoubrey 2, Blair Warren 3.

Ht 4. Clive 1, Webb 2, Lindsay Bailey 3.

Feature. Leversedge 1, Webb 2, Scott Bailey 3, Charles Gardiner 4, Brian Fridd 5, Michael Moulin 6.


Ht 1. Gavin Wilkie (Dunedin) 1, Glenn Everett 2, Glen Durie 3.

Ht 2. Everett 1, Durie 2, Wilkie 3.

Feature. Everett 1, Wilkie 2, Tom Lumsden 3.

Modified Sprints

Ht 1. Kieran Harris 1, Nigel Jackson 2, Caleb Baughan 3.

Ht 2. Harris 1, Ben Gilmore 2, Josh Walls 3.

Feature. Harris 1, Walls 2, Gilmore 3.

Six Shooters

Ht 1. Kris Jemmett 1, Matt Doncliff 2, Shaun Ashton 3.

Ht 2. Grant Harkness 1, Jemmett 2, Shaun Ashton 3.

Feature. Doncliff 1, Ben Smit 2, Ashton 3.

¼ Midgets

Ht 1. Hunter Rowland 1, Ben Morgan 2, Jessie Daly 3.

Ht 2. Montana Jamieson 1, Brad Clive 2, Rowland 3.

Feature. Jamieson 1, Rowland 2, Morgan 3.

Youth Ministocks

Ht 1. Matt Petersen 1, Zac West 2, Shian Robb 3.

Ht 2. Robb 1, Chris Coburn 2, Peterson 3.

Feature. Robb 1, Petersen 2, Coburn 3.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on