Jamie Duff Claim's Quake City Sprintcar Stampede In Season Finale 18-04-2015

New Zealand Sprintcar champion Jamie Duff pulled off a scintillating pass on the closing laps of the Quake City Stampede in the final meeting of the 53rd season at City South Van Spares Ruapuna Speedway on Saturday evening.

Duff who will shortly head off to race in the US, who had earlier in the meeting claimed a third and a first in the heats looked to be heading for second place in the Feature behind Matt Honeywell after Honeywell had held out the national champion since the midway point of the 20 lap race. Coming out of the CJ Phillips Construction Town Bend on lap seventeen Honeywell drifted slightly off the pole line and that was enough for Duff to blast through on the inside and go on to win  by 1.6 seconds from Honeywell with Nelson's Kris Gerald in third place.

Tom Lumsden claimed the Canterbury Midgetcar title contested over three races with a win in the opening race and then and third and a second giving Lumsden the title with 24 points, three ahead of Nelson's Nick Marquet, with Scott Millar third.

The Three Quarter Midgetcar class was evenly contested with three different winners with Gareth Bindon and Jeremy Webb claiming a heat win with Matt Leversedge  cappig off a good season when winning the Feature in a close finshed over Liam McCoubrey and Webb.

Kris Jemmett continued his recent dominance in the Six Shooter class when claiming back to back Feature wins as well as claiming a third and win in the heats. Kate Warren took out the Modified Sprint Feature, with Nelson's Jayden Bradley doing likewise in the development ¼ midget section.

Results - Competitors from Christchurch Unless Stated.

Sprintcars - Shake City Stampede

Ht 1. Steve Duff jnr 1, Kris Gerald (Nelson) 2, Jamie Duff 3.

Ht 2. J Duff 1, Shaun Ashton 2, Matt Honeywell 3.

Feature. Duff 1, Honeywell 2, Gerald 3.

Midgetcars - Canterbury Champions

Ht 1. Tom Lumsden 1, Nathan Roberts 2, Brian Fridd 3.

Ht 2. Gavin Wilkie (Dunedin) 1, Nick Marquet 2, Tom Lumsden 3.

Feature. Marquet 1, Lumsden 2, Blair Low 3.

Points: Lumsden 24, Marquet 21, Scott Millar 19. Low 18, Wilkie 13, Graham Sharp 13, Andrew Brown (Nelson) 13, James Brown (Nelson) 10.

Three Quarter Midgets

Ht 1. Gareth Bindon 1, Gareth Nixon 2, Liam McCoubrey 3.

Ht 2. Jeremy Webb 1, Kyle Glover 2, Scott Bailey 3.

Feature. Matt Leversedge 1, McCoubrey 2, Webb 3.  

Modified Sprints

Ht 1. Chris Jones (Invercargill) 1, Kate Warren 2, Charlie Jackson 3.

Feature. Warren 1, Jones 2, Ben Gilmore 3.

Six Shooters.

Ht 1. Matt Doncliff 1, Kirk Hawkins 2, Kris Jemmett 3.

Ht 2. Jemmett 1, Peter Keith 2, Gene Spooner 3.

Feature. Jemmett 1, Doncliff 2, Hay 3.

¼ Midgets

Ht 1. Brad Clive 1, Oscar Harcourt 2, Jayden Bradley (Nelson) 3.

Ht 2. Clive, Montana Jamieson 2, Bradley 3.

Feature. Bradley 1, Low 2, Ben Morgan 3.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on