Auckland's Jamie McDonald created a piece of history at Stadium Finance Ruapuna Speedway on Saturday evening when winning the Rolleston Highway Motels South Island Sprintcar championship, from Jamie Duff and Te Anau's Daniel Anderson. With the win McDonald become the first driver to claims wins in all four major sprintcar titles - the New Zealand championship, the NZ GP title and now both Island titles.

McDonald started the winner take all Feature from the second row behind Ben Gilmore and Steve Duff junior an along-side Jamie Duff. Gilmore was the early leader from McDonald and the Duff's. A spun car saw the race go under caution on lap four. On the restart Jamie Duff pulled off a stunning outside pass to take the lead. Three laps later McDonald moved into second place when passing Gilmore and set out after Duff who had built a handy lead with the defending titleholder, Jason Scott of Cromwell moving pass Gilmore to claim third place. McDonald passed Duff on lap eleven and then slowly increased the lead over the remaining laps with not even lapped traffic slowing McDonald's pace. Scott who was chasing sixth straight title retired with four lap race to leave Anderson on third place with McDonald taking the chequered flag by a four second margin from Duff and Anderson. The sprintcar heats saw Nelson's Kris Gerard win the first heat from Anderson with Gerard only taking the lead on the final lap. Gilmore took out the second actioned packed which saw Matt Leversedge clip the back of Matt Honeywell's car coming out of the Town Bend on the opening lap and rolling high several times putting an end to his meeting. McDonald took out the final heat from Jamie Duff with Ray Baughan third.

An impressive nineteen cars took to track to contest the inaugural South Pacific Six Shooter Grand Prix. Daryl Wright skipped away to win the opening heat from Corey McQuillin with Cromwell Jack Harrington in third place with less than three second between McQuillin and Peter Keith in eighth place.n The second heat was stopped for several minutes after Kirk Hawkins rode the wall coming out of the Town bend and rolled on the opening lap with crash crew and St Johns staff taking care when removing Hawkins out of his machine. Kris Jemmett then had a great battle with Todd Hay to win the rerun with Wright a very close third. Hay then took out the Feature from Jemmett with Ben Smit third. When the points were final tallied Jemmett - 54 came out on top by just a single point from Hay and Wright with a coin toss giving Todd second place. The Southern Midget Series concluded with Round 6 which saw racing right down the field as drivers chased vital every point. The first heat started with a six car tangle on the Stadium Car Prison bend but thankfully all but one car made the restart. Dave Kerr changed to the lead on the restart with Gary Chadwick holding on to a good second place with Tom Lumsden making a late run to claim third place.

Lumsden passed Glenn Everett on the opening lap of the next heat to go in to claim the win with Everett second with plenty of passing over the closing laps for third place which Kerr finally claimed after a great dice with Glen Durie, Gavin Wilkie (Dunedin) and Chadwick. Kerr had to use all his skills to take the win the Feature from early leader Everett with the race going yellow after Shane Clarke rolled on the CJ Phillips Construction Town Bend. Blair Low took third place from Jeremy Webb and Wilkie and Scott Millar. Wilkie came into the final round leading points and consistent placings of and eight, fifth and a fourth saw the well-travelled driver claim overall victory from Millar and Kerr. Jeremy Webb returned to winning form after solving recent electrical issues to win a heat and then the Feature with both win's setting new track records. Webb bettered the eight lap record in the heat win and then shaved a massive three seconds off the 12 lap record in the Feature. Philippa Melrose took out the other heat win as well as backing this up with a third in the other heat and then following Webb home in the Feature ahead of Gareth Nixon in third place. Nelson Jayden Bradley with two wins and Montana Jamieson one continued their recent dominance in the quarter midget class with Jack Low also having a good meeting with two seconds and a third placing.

Race Results - Competitors from Christchurch Unless Stated

Sprintcars - Rolleston Highway Motel South Island Championship Ht 1. Kris Gerard (Nelson) 1, Daniel Anderson (Inv) 2, Steve Duff jnr 3. Ht 2. Ben Gilmore 1 S Duff jnr 2, Jason Scott (Cromwell) 3. Ht 3. Jamie MacDonald (Auck) 1, Jamie Duff 2, Ray Baughan 3. Feature. MacDonald 1, J Duff 2, Anderson 3, S Duff jnr 4, Shaun Ashton 5, Ray Baughan 6, Matt Honeywell 7, Gilmore 8, Kyle Shearing 9, Allan Chapman 10.

Midgets - Southern Series Ht 1. Dave Kerr 1, Gary Chadwick 2, Tom Lumsden 3. Ht 2. Lumsden 1, Glenn Everett 2, Kerr 3. Feature. Kerr 1, Everett 2, Blair Low 3. Series Ovall Placings - Top Six: Wilkie 1, Scott Millar 2, Kerr 3, Low 4, Everett 5, Lumsden 6.

Six Shooters - South Pacific GP Ht 1. Daryl Wright 1, Corey McQuillin 2, Jack Harrington (Cromwell) 3. Ht 2. Kris Jemmett 1, Todd Hay 2, Wright 3. Feature. T Hay 1, Jemmett 2, B Smit 3.

Three Quarter Midgets - Best Pairs Ht 1. Jeremy Webb 1, Gareth Nixon 2, Philippa Melrose (Auckland) 3. Ht 2. Melrose 1, Gareth Bindon 2, Tyler Warnock 3. Feature. Webb 1, Melrose 2, Nixon 3

Quarter Midgets Ht1. Jayden Bradley (Nelson) 1, Jack Low 2, Oscar Harcourt 3. Ht 2. Montana Jamieson 1, Jack Low 2, Brad Clive 3. Final. Bradley 1, Jamieson 2, J Low 3.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on