Honeywell Claims Third Round Win In War Of Wings Sprintcar Series 13-12-2014

Matt Honeywell collected his third win in four rounds of the $60,000 War of the Sprintcar series at City South  Van Spares Ruapuna Speedway on Saturday evening to hold a commanding 70 point lead at the mid-point of the South Island wide series over Australian Allan Woods on 310  with the defending champion Jason Scott of Cromwell in third place overall on 295.

Honeywell from Rakaia showed from the opening heat that he was going to the driver to beat when leading out from the first  lap from Woods with a great dice then developing between the two with Honeywell having a moment on the closing laps when lapping Allan Chapman with the two cars touching with Nelson's Steve Sullivan third.

Sullivan's son Brett took out the next heat clocking the fastest lap of the evening of 13.22 seconds taking the chequered flag from Scott and local Ray Baughan with Honeywell content to come home in fourth. Te Anau's Daniel Anderson claimed the third heat from Woods with Nelson's Kris Gerard in third place.

In the 25 lap Feature, Woods and Honeywell were on the front row as that top point scorers with Woods quickly leading out from Honeywell with the next four cars racing nose to tail. Woods has opened up a 20 metre lead when the race went under yellow after Greg Teece (Nelson) spun. On the restart Woods then spun on the Stadium Cars Prison Bend and dropped back to seventh place. Honeywell took over the lead with Brett Sullivan second from Anderson, Scott and Steve Anderson. With five laps remaining Honeywell lead was cut into by Brett Sullivan who then had to fight off a challenge from Anderson on the last two laps with Honeywell holding on for the win to collect 100 series points from Sullivan and Anderson with less than two seconds separating the three at the finish line

In other classes Jeremy Webb continued his hot form in his TQ with a Feature win and well as a second and a third in the heats which were won by Liam McCourbrey and Kyle Glover. Nelson's Nevil Basalaj come back strongly after a rolling in his first heat two win the back to back Feature wins. Peter Keith come out on top in the Six Shooters after Kirk Hawkins won the earlier  heats. The sidecars made their first appearance of the season with Clint Warwood/Paul Auton unbeaten in the heats with the Final called off after Brent Moyle and Karl Haddock flipped on the Prison Bend. In the ¼ Midget section Montana Jamieson and Nelson Jayden Bradley continued to dominate

City South Van Spares Race Results - Competitors from Christchurch Unless Stated

Sprintcars - War of the Wings - Round 4

Ht 1. Matt Honeywell (Rakaia) 1, Allan Woods (Aust) 2, Steve Sullivan (Nelson) 3.

Ht 2. Brent Sullivan (Nelson) 1, Jason Scott (Cromwell) 2, Ray Baughan 3.

Ht 3. Daniel Anderson (Te Anau) 1, Woods 2, Kris Gerard (Nelson) 3

Feature. Honeywell 1, B Sullivan 2, Anderson 3, Scott 4, S Sullivan 5, Woods 6, Baughan 7, Gerard 8.

Series Points: Honeywell 380, Woods 310, Scott 295, S Sullivan 260, B Sullivan 245, Anderson 225, Baughan 215, Paddy North (Blenheim) 180, Gerard 180, Steve Duff jnr 175, Shaun Ashton 165, Kerry Bartlett (Ashburton) 120, Stephen Thompson (Nelson) 105, Allan Chapman 105, Stephen Taylor (Wellington) 100, Greg Teece (Nelson) 100, Caleb Brooks 85, Mark Evans (Cromwell) 45, Scotty Gordon (Invercargill) 40, Jamie Duff 30.

Three Quarter Midgets

Ht 1. Liam McCourbrey 1, Jeremy Webb 2, Daniel Jenkins 3.

Ht 2. Kyle Glover 1, Gavin Chappell 2, Webb 3.

Feature. Webb 1, Ben Gilmore 2. Gareth Nixon 3.


Ht 1. Dave Kerr (Southbridge) 1, Glenn Everett 2, Nick Marquet (Nelson) 3.

Ht 2. Brian Fridd 1, Kerr 2, Marquet 3.

Feature. Nevil Basalaj (Nelson) 1, Gavin Wilkie (Dunedin) 2, Everett 3.


Ht 1. Clint Warwood/Paul Auton 1, Brett Moyle/Karl Haddock 2, Paul Anderson/ Nick Case 3.

Ht 2. Warwood/Auton 1, Moyle/Haddock 2, Anderson/ Case 3.

Six Shooters

Ht 1. Kirk Hawkins 1, Grant Harkess 2, Ben Smit 3.

Ht 2. Hawkins 1, Jemmett 2, Jason Manson 3.

Feature. Peter Keith 1, Manson 2, Jemmett 3.

¼ Midgets

Ht 1. Montana Jamieson 1, Jayden Bradley 2, Brad Clive 3.

Ht 2. Bradley 1, Jamieson 2, Dylan Forsey 3.

Feature. Jamieson 1, Bradley 2, Courtney Jones 3.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on