Home Coming A Winning One of Jamie Duff In WoW Series 7th March 2015

Newly crowned NZ Sprintcar champion, Jamie Duff made a winning return to his home track when winning the sixth round of the $60,000 War of the Wings series at City South Van Spares Ruapuna Speedway on Saturday evening.

Duff who won the national title two weeks ago in Palmerston North totally dominated the 25 lap Feature heading home series leader Matt Honeywell, Nelson's Brett Sullivan, Shaun Ashton and Ray Baughan. Duff has had limited appearances at Ruapuna this season due to basing his racing out of Auckland but proudly did a lap of honour with the New Zealand flag flying of the top wing of his car before the meeting started and consistent placing in the three heats - a second, seventh and a fourth of the fourteen car field, saw Duff start the Feature as the top scorers and on the front row of the grid alongside Honeywell who had won the opening heat and then claimed a fourth and and 11th of the Concut sponsored round.

In the Feature Honeywell lead for the opening laps slowly building up a lead over Duff and Steve Sullivan (Nelson). After the first caution on lap four Honeywell again pulled away from Duff but on lap eight the two cars were locked together and on lap ten Duff passed in the inside of the Stadium Car Prison with Honeywell unable to respond. At one stage Duff at opened up a massive 6.4 second lead. Even with two more cautions, the last with three laps to race, which allowed the field to close up Duff was in control going on to take the chequered flag by over three seconds. Honeywell held out Sullivan with Ashton, still in his rookie second claiming his best finish in the series ahead home Baughan.   With two rounds remaining Honeywell stills on holds a commanding points lead with 540, with Jason Scott (Cromwell) on 445 with Sullivan next on 405, from Baughan 385 and Allan Woods (Australia) 365 round out the top five.

In the Equus/Oxford Court Motel Southern Midget series Nelson's Nick Marquet finally had a trouble free run taking out the Feature from Brian Fridd and local Glen Durie.   Fridd was the early pace setter and had a great dice with Marquet for several laps before Marquet took the leads. Series leader Neil Basalaj claimed a second and a win in the heats before rolling early in the Feature after riding a wheel of a rival coming out of the C J Phillips Construction Town bend.

Ben Gilmore had a busy evening doing double duty in both the Modified Sprint and TQ classes and his efforts were rewarded when winning the $1,000 Modified Sprint Clay Cup from Invercargill's Raymond Phillips with Michael Jackson third. Gilmore also tasted success in his TQ with a heat win and then a third in the Feature behind winner Jeremy Webb and Andrew Marker.

The Six Shooter class turned in some close racing with Dunedin's Matt Anderson claiming the Feature win as well as a heat win, with Jason Manson and Matt Doncliff following the Anderson home in the Feature.    

Results - Competitors from Christchurch Unless Stated. Sprintcars - War of The Wings Concut - Round 6 Ht 1. Matt Honeywell 1, Jamie Duff 2, Kris Garard (Nelson) 3. Ht 2. Steve Sullivan (Nelson) 1, Shaun Ashton 2, Steve Duff jun 3. Ht 3. Brett Sullivan (Nelson) 1, Ray Baughan 2, Daniel Anderson (Te Anau) 3. Feature. Duff 1, Honeywell 2, B Sullivan 3. Midgetcars - Equus/Oxford Court Motel Southern Series Ht 1. Dave Kerr 1, Nevil Basalaj (Nelson) 2, Glen Durie 3.   Ht 2. Basalaj 1, Nick Marquet (Nelson) 2, Tom Lumsden 3. Feature. Marquet 1, Brian Fridd 2, Durie 3. Modifield Sprints - Clay Cup Ht 1. Kate Warren 1, Caleb Baughan 2, Jimmy Doyle 3. Ht 2. Caleb Baughan 1, Verdon McHaffie 2, Gilmore 3. Ht 3. Gilmore 1, Michael Jackson (Invercargill) 2, Warren 3.       Feature. Gilmore 1, Raymond Phillips (Inv.) 2, Jackson 3. Three Quarter Midgets - Sinclair Trophy Ht 1. Ben Gilmore 1, Gareth Bindon 2, Jeremy Webb 3. Ht 2. Andrew Marker 1, Webb 2, Bindon 3. Feature. Webb 1, Marker 2, Gilmore 3. Six Shooters. Ht 1. Grant Harkess 1, Jason Manson 2, Kris Jemmett 3. Ht 2. Matt Anderson (Dunedin ) 1, Jemmett 2, Harkess 3. Feature. Anderson 1, Manson 2, Matt Doncliff 3.   ¼ Midgets Ht 1. Jayden Bradley (Nelson) 1, Jack Low 2, Ben Morgan 3. Ht 2. Bradley 1, Low 2, Brad Clive 3.

138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on