Duff Continues Dominance In WoW Series

Jamie Duff continued his dominance of the $100,000 Hydraulink Sprintcar War of the Wings (WoW) series when he claimed his six Feature win from nine rounds when the penultimate round of the South Island wide series was raced at Racecourse Hotel and Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway in Saturday evening.

Duff took out the 25 lap Feature, which also doubled as the Salute to Goodie Classic, from Matt Honeywell and Te Anau’s Daniel Anderson. Duff went into the Feature as the top points scorer after claiming a third place and then a win from his two qualifying heats, with the other heats wins going to Allan Chapman, Nelson’s Jason Smith and Hayden McKay.

Duff lead from flag to flag in the Feature, leading out early from Luke Keegan and Honeywell. With the battle going on for second place. Keegan was passed by Honeywell on lap four and then by Anderson a lap later. Duff at one staged opened-up a 3.1 second lead with was reduced as the leaders started to lap tail headers.

The first of three yellow lights came on when Dunedin’s Sam O’Callaghan spun out on the Prison Bend. A spin by Smith brought on the final yellows with three laps to run which again closed the field up. On the green Duff skipped away to a handy lead with Honeywell holding out Anderson until the finish. Duff dropped valuable series points when spinning out during his time trials at the start of the meeting, won by Nelson’s Conner Rangi with a lap time of 13.0581, but still leads the series going into the final round at Cromwell, Duff now moves to 867 points eighteen clear of Rangi 849 with Anderson third on 770 with Keegan on 760. Duff’s win on Saturday was the eight straight WoW Feature win for the Duff Motorsport Team with Steve Duff junior claiming the other two victiories.

Ben Gilmore claimed his fourth straight win in the Clay Cup for the Modified Sprint class. Gilmore took out the first two of the three qualifying heats and then had to settle for fifth place in the final heat won by Brendon Daly, from Clayton Phillips and Invercargill’s Vaughan Marshall.

In the Feature Gilmore lead out from the green light with Marshall and Phillips having a great battling for second and third. With three laps to race the field closed-up under yellow when Verdon McHaffie spun with Gilmore quickly establishing a handy lead when the race resumed going on to claim the Trophy from Marshall and Phillips.

New Zealand champion, Jeremy Webb had a good meeting in the Three Quarter Midget car section. He had to settle for second place behind Kyle Glover in the opening heat before winning the next heat from Liam McCoubrey and Glover. These three then battled it out in the Feature with Webb taking the chequered flag from Glover and McCoubrey.

The track curfew meant that the Feature could not be run which looked to be a close battle after two close heats. The first was won by Glen Durie from Shane Clark and Dave Kerr. Kerr reversed the order in the next heat after a great dice with Clark and Durie in third place.

Gene Spooner continued his good run in the Six Shooter class, claiming the runner-up spot in the heats behind winners Daryl Wright and Peter Keith before going on to win the Feature from Keith and Wright.

Dyllan Forsey won both heats in the quarter midgets, ahead of Jack Nairn and Grace Roxburgh with Nairn heading home Forsey and Roxburgh in the Final.

Race Results (Competitors from Christchurch Unless Stated)

Sprintcars - Hydraulink War of the Wings

Time Trials (Top 10): Conner Rangi (Nelson) 13.0581 seconds 1, Matt Honeywell 13:1223 2, Daniel Anderson (Te Anau) 13.2338 3, Luke Keegan 13.2936 4, Matt Anderson (Cromwell) 13.4734 5, Hayden McKay 13.5393 6, Ray Baughan 13.5696 7, Shaun Ashton 13.6417 8, Todd Richards 13.7272 9, Caleb Baughan 13.7580 10.

Ht 1. Allan Chapman 1, D Anderson 2, Jamie Duff 3.

Ht 2. Jason Smith (Nelson) 1, Luke Keegan 2, Sam O'Callaghan (Dunedin) 3.

Ht 3. J Duff 1, M Anderson 2, Steve Duff junior 3.

Ht 4. Hayden McKay 1, Jason Scott (Queenstown) 2, R Baughan 3.

B Main. Paddy North (Blenheim) 1, Ashton 2, Scott 3.

Feature. J Duff 1, Honeywell 2, D Anderson 3, M Anderson 4, Rangi 5, McKay 6, Martin Harcourt 7, Ashton 8, North 9, Richards 10.

Round Points: Honeywell 115, D Anderson 109, Rangi 107, J Duff 101, M Anderson 97, McKay 85, Ashton 83, North 70, Martin Harcourt 70, Richards 65, Chapman 50, Smith 45, Keegan 44, Jason Manson 44, Scott 36, R Baughan 33, S Duff 20, Josh Wells 15, O’Callaghan 10, Daniel McKinnell 5.Caleb Baughan 2.

Overall Series Points (Top 10). J Duff 867, Rangi 849, D Anderson 770, Keegan 760, M Anderson 606, Ashton 555, S Duff 538, Alicia McLauchan (Nelson) 495, Scott 448

Modified Sprints - Clay Cup

Ht 1. Ben Gilmore 1, Paul Cox 2, Michael Jackson (Invercargill) 3.

Ht 2. Gilmore 1, Brent Hayston (Invercargill) 2, Verdon McHaffie 3.

Ht 3. Brendon Daly 1, Clayton Phillips 2, Vaughan Marshall (Invercargill) 3.

Feature. Gilmore 1, Marshall 2, Phillips 3.


Ht 1. Glen Durie 1, Shane Clark 2, Dave Kerr 3.

Ht 2. Kerr 1, Clark 2, Durie 3.

Three Quarter Midgetcars

Ht 1. Kyle Glover 1, Jeremy Webb 2, Tyler Warnock 3.

Ht 2. Webb 1, Liam McCoubrey 2, Glover 3.

Feature. Webb 1, Glover 2, McCoubrey 3.

Six Shooters

Ht 1. Daryl Wright 1, Gene Spooner 2, Andrew Gregge 3.

Ht 2. Peter Keith 1, Spooner 2, Jesse Wright 3.

Feature. Spooner 1, Keith 2, D Wright 3.

Quarter Midgets

Race 1. Dyllan Forsey 1, Jack Nairn 2, Grace Roxburgh 3.

Race 2. Forsey 1, Nairn 2, Roxburgh 3.

Final. Nairn 1, Forsey 2, Roxburgh 3.

95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on