Daniel Anderson Win's Back To Back Salute To Goodie Titles 16th Jan 2015

The format of the Salute to Goodie Sprintcar Feature raced at City South Van Spares Ruapuna Speedway produced a pulsating finish as Te Anau's Daniel Anderson became the first back to back winner of the trophy as the chasing pack looked set to catch Anderson on final laps, with New Zealand Test members, Jamie McDonald and Dean Brindle filling second and third place with 5 seconds separating the first 7 cars at the chequered flag.

The Royce Clive Engineering sponsored event saw the highest point scorers start at the back of the Feature, rather than the normal front of the field with the top points scorer then choosing who would fill the next grid and so forth. A second and a win saw Daniel Rogers (Auckland) as the top scorer with other heats wins going to Skinny Colson (Tauranga) and local Jamie Duff and as expected the €˜named drivers found themselves starting near the back with somewhat surprisingly Anderson win last season somehow being by overlooked by most of his sixteen rivals which saw the him start on grid four with rookie Steve Duff junior starting on grid 1.

It was Duff junior that lead the field from the €˜green' with Anderson in second place by the end of lap one. Duff junior then opened up clear lead from Anderson as several different drivers held third place by the end of the lap fifth with Brindle and McDonald the first of the back makers to make move with Brindle in sixth place on lap nine and up to fourth two laps later behind Matt Honeywell. Third.

Two lap later Duff junior's lead had all but gone as he and Anderson raced side by side for two laps with the raced then going under caution after Caleb Brooks spun coming out of the CJ Phillips Town bend. On the restart Anderson took the lead in the front straight and quickly opened up what looked to be racing winning lead as the Brindle, McDonald, Jamie Duff and Jamie Larsen (Palmerston North) continued their charge to the front of the field.

Third were three more cautions before the final lap, including one caused by Rogers getting out of sharp and causing Shaun Aston's car to roll on the Stadium Car Prison bend. The final caution came with two laps to run with Anderson's leading with two laps cars between McDonald and Brindle, followed by the Duff's. McDonald and Bridle using the wide line quickly accounted for the laps cars on the penultimate lap and closed right up on Anderson but Anderson held in nerve two record a deserved win, the McDonald leading the freight training home from Bridle, Jamie Duff, Steve Duff jr, Larsen and Colson.

The Midget Feature also saw heat winners Dave Kerr and Glenn Everett battle it lap after lap with Kerr going on to record a narrow. Jeremy Webb and Matt Leversedge were the stand outs in the TQ class with Webb following Leversedge home in the opening heat before winning the next heat and the Feature from Leversedge. Vernon McHaffie secured two wins in his Modified Sprint with Peter Keith taking out the Edge Parts and Performance Trophy Challenge from Todd Hay and Kirk Hawkins.

Race Results - Competitors from Christchurch Unless Stated


Royce Clive Engineering Salute To Goodie

Ht 1. Skinny Colson (Tauranga) 1, Dean Brindle (Auckland) 2, Jamie Larsen (Auck.) 3.

Ht 2. Jamie Duff 1, Daniel Rogers (Auck.) 2, Brindle 3.

Ht 3. Rogers 1, Shaun Ashton 2, Ray Baughan 3.

Feature. Daniel Anderson (Te Anau) 1, McDonald 2, Brindle 3, J Duff 4, Steve Duff Jr 5, Larsen 6, Colson 7, Matt Honeywell 8, Kerry Barlett 9, Kyle Shearing (Invercargill) 10.

Ht 1. Dave Kerr 1, Glenn Everett 2, Garry Chadwick 3.

Ht 2. Everett 1, Kerr 2, Brian Fridd 3.

Feature. Kerr 1, Everett 2, Fridd 3.

Three Quarter Midgets

Ht 1. Matt Leversedge 1, Jeremy Webb 2, Gareth Nixon 3.

Ht 2. Webb 1, Leversedge 2, Ben Gilmore 3.

Feature. Webb 1, Leversedge 2, Gilmore 3.

Extra Race. Matt Davison 1 Liam McCourbrey 2, Alisha McLauchlan (Nelson) 3. , Modified Sprints

Ht 1. Vernon McHaffie 1, Ben Gilmore 2, Brendon Daly 3.

Ht 2. Gilmore 1, B Daly 2, Allan Daly 3.

Feature. McHaffie 1, Gilmore 2, B Daly 3.

Six Shooters - Trophy Challenge

Ht 1. Todd Hay 1, Matt Doncliff 2, Kirk Hawkins 3.

Ht 2. Peter Keith 1, Jason Corboy 2, Ben Smit 3

Feature. Jason Manson 1, Keith 2, James Robinson (Dunedin) 3.

Overall Placings: Keith 1st, Hay 2nd, Hawkins 3rd.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on