Caleb Baughan continued his good form when he claimed Round 2 of the Hydraulink Sprintcar War of the Wings at the Racecourse Hotel and Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on Saturday evening. It was Baughan’s first Feature win in the WOW series, and his second consecutive Ruapuna feature win.

Baughan lead the 25 Lap final, sponsored by R.A Shearing Contractors, from the green flag, having a great battle with Te Anau’s Daniel Anderson over the opening quarter of the race before building a handy lead with Anderson then came under pressure from Paddy North (Blenheim). North and Anderson then raced together for over half the race with North finally managing to make a pass stick on lap 19. With the leaders in to lap traffic by this stage Baughan’s lead was eaten into by North but the laps ran out with North having to hold out Anderson on the final lap, with Jamie Duff, Ben Gilmore and Shaun Ashton next in the finishing order.

Duff took out the time trials with a lap time of 13.6228 seconds with the heats wins going to Sam O’Callaghan, Anderson and North with Baughan finishing in fourth place in both his heats to earn a front row start with Anderson. Ashton impressed in what was his first outing of the season after trying to sell his car at one stage.

Three Quarter Midget driver, Kyle Glover made up for the disappointment when motor problems cost him a top placing the Ryan Stone Tribute last Saturday. He dominated the field to win the Feature by a big margin from Ben Morgan and the fast finishing Conner Rangi, driving Gavin Chappell's car. Glover also won the opening race from Liam McCoubrey, who had his motor blow just on the finish line with Ben Smith third. Morgan took out the next heat from Gareth Bindon and Michael Moulin.

Several racing incidents meant fields were reduced for the Modified Sprint class. Kate Warren won the opening heat class with Courtney Jones second and Clayton Phillips third. Warren was then in the wrong place at the wrong time on heat two when she was pressing the leaders and hit heavily by a rival forcing her retirement for the rest of the meeting. Charlie Jackson claimed the win from leading home his father, Nigel with Michael Colins in third place. Charlie Jackson then took out the Feature from Jones with Daniel Jenkins.

Steve Duff junior dominated the Six Shooter racing when winning their first heat ahead of Peter Keith and Andrew Gregge. Keith the Duff then swapped placings in the next heat with Duff claim another Feature win for the season when leading home Jack Pollock and Matt Doncliff.

The Quarter Midget Class continues to impress as the young drivers hone their skills on the dirt. Ethan Smith started the meeting with a third placing in the opening heat, won by Jack Brownlees. Smith then went one better in the next heat, finishing just behind Jacob Cunniffe with Smith then claiming the Feature win after a great battle with Cunniffe with Dyllan Forsey third.

Race Results Sprintcars – Hydraulink War of Wings Series Time Trials - Top 10: Jamie Duff 13.6228 seconds 1, Daniel Anderson 13.7898 2, Allan Chapman 13.9039 3, Sam O'Callahan 13.9456 4, Ray Baughan 14.0552 5, Martin Harcourt 14.0727 6, Shaun Ashton 14.1137 7, Ben Gilmore 14.2053 8, Matt Honeywell 14.2187 9, Andy Erskine 14.2944 10. Ht 1. O'Callaghan 1, Honeywell 2, Ashton 3. Ht 2. Anderson 1, Duff 2, Gilmore 3. Ht 3. Paddy North 1, Chapman 2, O'Callaghan 3. Feature. Caleb Baughan 1, North 2, Anderson 3.

WOW Series Points: C Baughan 100, North 97, Anderson 90, Duff 87, Gilmore 87, Ashton 77, Harcourt 72, Matt Honeywell 70, O’Callaghan 60, Chapman 55, Alicia Hill 50, Gene Spooner 47, Jacob Brownlees 40, Nathan Roberts 38, Ray Baughan 30, Nigel Colvin 25, Erskine 20.

Three Quarter Midgets Ht 1. Kyle Glover 1, Liam McCoubrey 2, Ben Smith 3. Ht 2. Ben Morgan 1, Gareth Bindon 2, Michael Moulin 3. Feature. Glover 1, Morgan 2, Connor Rangi 3.

Modified Sprints Ht 1. Kate Warren 1, Courtney Jones 2, Clayton Phillips 3. Ht 2. Charlie Jackson 1, Nigel Jackson 2, Michael Colins 3. Feature. C Jackson 2, Jones 2, Daniel Jenkins 3.

Six Shooters Ht 1. Steve Duff 1, Peter Keith 2, Andrew Gregge 3. Ht 2. Keith 1, Duff 2, Daryl Wright 3. Feature. Duff 1, Jack Pollock 2, Matt Doncliff 3.

Quarter Midgets Ht 1. Jack Brownlees 1, Jacob Cunniffe 2, Ethan Smith 3. Ht 2. Cunniffe 1, Smith 2, Dyllan Forsey 3. Feature. Smith 1, Cunniffe 2, Forsey 3.

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

With the track in tip-top condition, their was no shortage of fast close racing, plenty of passing and a couple of race records being bettered at The Racecourse Hotel & Motorlodge Ruapuna Speedway on